Book Review: All The Birds in the Sky

51AQy9+uVPL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_The end of the world is near in this off-beat urban fantasy by Charlie Jane Anders. Patricia and Laurence are awkward friends with special gifts that lead them into playing a major role in the Earth’s final hours. All the Birds in the Sky is a story of fate helped along by a little magic and technology. 

Anders does a phenomenal job communicating in the characters’ voices as children as well as adults. The awkward prepubescent relationship early in the story is perfectly captured with realistic dialogue and dark humor that makes the characters unforgettable. When Patricia and Laurence reunite as adults they make an easy transition to mature versions of their younger selves. Cohesiveness is the star of this book.

There are some great surprises and twists in All the Birds in the Sky but I was left hanging at a few points and the holes still bothered me after I was done with the book. There were places I wish the author could have given more information than just a simple explanation about what seemed like complex institutions. The story jumps forward quite a few years on the timeline and I was left feeling uninformed about important aspects of Laurence and Patricia’s lives. I can be my own devil’s advocate and consider the author did this on purpose to make the reunion genuine but I really wanted to get a chance to go to school with Patricia.

I recommend this book mainly because no one should go through life without the pleasure of knowing adolescent Laurence. The novel is well written, imaginative and thought-provoking. The Amazon link is included below.

All the Birds in the Sky – Charlie Jane Anders


I am currently obsessed with all things Game of Thrones. So, after I caught up on the tv show it was only natural I read the books. How else would I complain about how the book is better, duh. I’m currently reading the first installment in A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin which I’m not going to review so there may be a few weeks until the next book review.

Leave a Reply

